Apple Cranberry Gingersnap Crust Pie(GF,CF, and Nut Free)

I baked my first gluten-free, casein-free, nut-free pie on Thanksgiving, and it turned out pretty good. I’m including the blog post in addition to the video, to make a couple tweaks to the recipe, to make it even better. If you watch the video, try not to laugh too hard, it’s my first video. ;-p

  • Ingredients for the Crust:
  • Gluten-Free Gingersnap cookies 8 ounces
  • 4-5 Tablespoons of Ghee/Coconut Oil(add more if needed)
  • Ingredients for the Filling:
  • 2-3 apples, pared and cored
  • 8-10 oz of cranberries
  • 4 Tablespoons of Organic Dark Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • Pinch of Organic Cane Sugar

Preheat Oven to 375F. If you have a food Processor place the Gingersnaps and ghee or slightly melted coconut oil into processor and process until finely ground. The recipe that I had called for 2 tablespoons butter, which wasn’t nearly enough. I went a little overboard and added too much. If you don’t have coconut oil or don’t want to add it, that’s fine. I just added it in at the last minute. Start with 4 tablespoons of ghee, and mix in more if needed. Place the mixture into a 8″ pie plate, and bake for 5-8 minutes, remove and cool the crust.

For the filling your either going to place the apples into a food processor or chop them up into small pieces, then add cranberries, brown sugar, vanilla, cinnamon and mix throughly. I used 2 apples and 8 ounces of cranberries, and felt that there wasn’t enough filling, so if you like more filling use 3 apples and 10 ounces of cranberries. Sprinkle with the organic cane sugar, I just used a pinch. Bake for 35 minutes or until tender. Spoon the filling into the crust and serve immediately. I was so excited about my pie, that I forgot to snap a picture of it before I served it.

About healingthroughnutrition

Website: www.healing-through-nutrition.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Apple Cranberry Gingersnap Crust Pie(GF,CF, and Nut Free)

  1. Sounds like a delicious combination!

  2. Shouldn’t there be ginger added to the ginger snap cookies? I love ginger snap cookies but do not know if they add real ginger to them. But yours sound a lot healthier than what is sold in the store.

Leave a Reply

